YPD 2019 – 8th Yeast: Products and Discovery (YPD) meeting

Venue: University of Sydney (Wilkinson Lecture Theatre).

Date: Wed 4th December – Fri 6th December 2019

YPD 19, like previous YPD meetings, will brought together a variety of scientists and technologists interested in yeast research and applied aspects of yeast technology. The aim of the meeting was to strengthen existing links and develop new links between members of the Australasian Yeast Group (www.ayeastgroup.org).


The full proceedings are available here.


Conference Program

 Wednesday December 4th

08:30 – 9:30 Registration
09:30 – 10:30 Plenary Lecture Sakkie Pretorius
10:30 – 12:00 Session I Industrial and Synthetic Fungi
Philip Bell (Macquarie U)
Victoria Haritos (Monash)
Nick Coleman (U. Sydney)
Hit-Heng Chooi (UWA)
12:00 – 13:00 Lunch
13:00 – 14:30 Student presentations 1
Student presentations I  “Lightning talks” (3 min)
15:00 – 16:30 Student presentations 2
Student presentations II  “Posters complementing talks”
19:00 Conference Dinner The Great Hall, University of Sydney


Day 2 Thursday December 5th

09:00 – 10:30 Session II Virulent Fungi
Richard Cannon (U. Otago)
Oliver Moreton (WSU)
Alex Idnurm (UMelb)
Jiyoti Verma (Monash)
10:30 – 12:00 Session III
The Microbiome and Biofilms
Megan Lenardon (UNSW)
Vanessa Rosetto Marcelino (WI)
Bryan R. Coad (UA)
Benjamin Schwessinger (ANU)
12:00 – 13:00 Lunch
13:00 – 14:30 Session IV
Drug Discovery and Development
Luke Guddat (UQ)
Claudia Simm (Monash)
James McKenna (La Trobe)
Lorna Wilkinson-White (US)
14:30 – 16:00 Session V
Networks and Regulation
Marc Wilkins (UNSW)
Nikolay Shirokikh (ANU)
Mark Bleackley (La Trobe)
Oliver Rackham (Curtin)
Tim Tucey (Monash)
19:00 ECR evening Visit Marrickville Breweries


Day 3 Friday December 6th

09:00 – 10:30 Session VI
Microfungi in the World
Cristian Varela (AWRI)
Manpreet Dhami (MWLR, NZ)
Laslo Irinyi (WIMR)
David Guest (U. Sydney)
10:30 – 12:00 Session VII
Genetics, Evolution and Resistance
Alex Andrianopoulos (U. Melb)
Austen Ganley (U. Auckland)
Erwin Lamping (U. Otago)
Anthony Borneman (AWRI)
12:00 – 12:30 Concluding remarks
12:30 – 13:30 Lunch and Departure


Organising committee

Local Organising Committee Chair: Dee Carter (University of Sydney)

Scientific Program Chair: Julie Djordjevic (Westmead Institute for Medical Research)

Local Organising Committee

Oliver Morton, (Secretary) Western Sydney University

Marc Wilkins, (Sponsorship) University of New South Wales

Heinrich Kroukamp, (Treasurer) Macquarie University

Justin Beardsley, (Social Events) Marie Bashir Institute/Westmead Institute for Medical Research

Program Organizing Committee

James Fraser, University of Queensland

Traude Beilharz, Monash University

Austen Ganley, The University of Auckland

Simon Schmidt, Australian Wine Research Institute

Jiyoti Verma, Monash University

Alex Andrianopoulos, University of Melbourne

Helena Nevalainen, Macquarie University

Oliver Rackman, University of Western Australia

Vanessa Rossetto Marcelino, Marie Bashir Institute

Laszló Irinyi, Westmead Institute for Medical Research

Benjamin Schultz, University of Queensland

Anthony Borneman, Australian Wine Research Institute

Evelyn Sattleger, Massey University